City of Walla Walla

Switch to desktop


City Council

City Council members are elected by Walla Walla city voters for four year terms. Members do not have separate wards, but represent all the citizens. Among the Council members, they elect the Mayor and Mayor Pro-Tem for a two year term.

The Council is the legislative governing body for the City. They set policies, adopt ordinances and the annual budget, levy taxes, approve contracts and appoint city advisory boards, commissions and committees and the City Manager and City Attorney.

Live Broadcast of City Council Work Sessions and Meetings

Click below to hear live broadcasts of City Council work sessions and meetings. Work sessions are held at 4 p.m. on the second Monday of each month. Meetings are held at 7 p.m. on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month. Tune into this audiostream during those times to hear proceedings.

City of Walla Walla is on Mixlr


City Council Members

Barbara Clark, Mayor

DSC 8614.crop.200pixels

Retired lawyer/mediator

Elected 11/1997 
Current Term Expires 12/31/2019


Liaison and voting representative to the following Board/Commission/Committees: Borleske Stadium, Firemen's Pension, LEOFF Board, Volunteer Firemen's Board, Walla Walla County Emergency Management Board, CDBG Consolidated Plan Advisory Group, Sustainability Committee. 



Tom Scribner, Mayor Pro Tem

DSC 8598.crop.200pixels

Council Member Scribner has been an attorney at Minnick-Hayner since 1980. He is a member of the Walla Walla County and Washington State Bar Associations. He currently serves on the boards of the Blue Mountain Audubon Society and the Blue Mountain Land Trust. He has served on the City Council since 2016 and previously served from 1991-1995.

Elected 11/2015
Current Term Expires 12/31/2019


Liaison or voting representative to the following Board/Commission/Committees: Lodging Tax Advisory Committee, Valley Transit, VA Medical Center Task Force, Walla Walla Water Management Baord, Blue Mountain Humane Society, Mill Creek Committee, Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee, Hotel and Motel Commission, Library Board, Finance Committee, Hearings Examiner.


Yazmin Bahena, Council Member

DSC 8597.crop.200pixels

Fluent in English and Spanish, Yazmin Bahena is proud to be a first-generation Mexican-American. She feels extremely fortunate to have been born and raised in this community and blessed to live in a vibrant democracy. Yazmin is a Kindergarten teacher at Edison Elementary School, and she taught six years at Green Park Elementary. A lifelong Walla Wallan, she graduated from Walla Walla High School and earned a bachelor’s degree at the University of Idaho and a Master’s of Education at Walla Walla University.

Elected 11/2017
Current Term Expires 12/31/2021


Liaison or voting member to the following Board/Commission/Committees: Valley Transit, Downtown Walla Walla Foundation, Civil Service Commission, Historic Preservation Commission, Boards and Commissions. 

Riley Clubb, Council Member

DSC 8624.crop.200pixels

Riley Clubb has a bachelor's degree from Whitman College and a master's in business from MIT. He is a local entrepreneur, having started businesses in Walla Walla ranging from ag tech to virtual reality. If he isn't stuck in a meeting, he is most likely watching a movie with his wife and son, Melissa and Malakai.

Elected 11/2017 
Current Term Expires 12/31/2021 


Liaison or voting member to the following Board/Commission/Committees: Blue Mountain Action Council, Firemen’s Pension, LEOFF Board, Metropolitan Planning Organization, Transportation Improvement Advisory Committee, Volunteer Firemen’s Board, Planning Commission, Visit Walla Walla, Boards and Commissions.


Jerry Cummins, Council Member

DSC 8575.crop.200pixels

Jerry is a commercial rated lighter-than-air hot-air balloon pilot with a wife and four daughters. He has continuously served on the Walla Walla City Council since January 1992. He also served four terms as Mayor and three terms as Mayor, Pro-Tem.

In June 2000, he retired from the administrative position of director of Career and Technical (Vocational) Education for Walla Walla School District #140. He supervised 29 certificated teachers and was directly responsible for 15 educational programs.

Previously, he served for eight years as department chair of the Business Education Department at Walla Walla High School and also taught business education subjects.

He holds a bachelor of arts degree in business education and master of arts degree in vocational business and marketing education from Eastern Washington State College, and he completed post-graduate work at Washington State University in vocational administration and school administration.

Jerry served in the U.S. Navy from August 1962 to August 1964 and was honorably discharged. He retired with 23 years of service from the U.S. Navy Ready Reserve in October 1983, having attained the rank of Chief Petty Officer (E-7).

He is a member of the following organizations:

  • First Presbyterian Church, 1972 to present (previously served as elder)
  • Masonic Lodge, #246, Manito, Spokane, Washington, 1962 to present
  • Member, Walla Walla Area Chamber of Commerce, 1983 to present. Served on Board of Directors, 1983-88 and 1994-95
  • City of Walla Walla, city council member and served as Mayor, 1994-95, 1998-2003 and 2013-15; council member 1992 to present
  • Valley Transit (Public Transit) Board Member, 1992 to present. Served three terms as chair and have chaired finance committee from 1995 to present
  • AMVETS Member Port of Walla Walla Economic Development Committee, 1998 to present

Elected 11/1991 
Current Term Expires 12/31/2019


Liaison or voting member to the following Board/Commission/Committees: Borleske Stadium Association, Good Roads Transportation Association, Valley Transit, VA Medical Center Task Force, Housing Authority, Finance Committee.

Myron Huie, Council Member

DSC 8585.crop.200pixels

Transportation Solutions, Human Resources Manager

Elected 11/2017 
Current Term Expires 12/31/2021


Liaison or voting member to the following Board/Commission/Committees: Good Roads Transportation Association, Infrastructure Improvement Committee, Criminal Justice Committee, Walla Walla Valley Pioneer and Historical Society, Boards and Commissions.




Steve Moss, Council Member 

DSC 8615.crop.200pixels


Elected 11/2015
Current Term Expires 12/31/2019


Liaison to the following Board/Commission/Committees: Solid Waste Advisory Committee; Sasayama Sister City; Cannara Sister City; Parks, Recreation, and Urban Forestry Advisory Board; Planning Commission; Water/Wastewater Advisory Committee, Finance Committee.

City of Walla Walla, 15 North 3rd Avenue, Walla Walla, WA 99362
Business Hours:  8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

To report an issue with the website, please click here.

Top Desktop version